CPSA at Universities

The significance of a software architect’s role

Within the broad subject area that is ‘software engineering’, the role of a software architect is becoming increasingly significant

Software architects act as a link between a project’s different stakeholder groups within. This includes not only the users, the clients and the operation, but also the project managers as well as the entire development team:

Softwarearchitekt_en

There is also a considerable variety of forces and interests at play within a specific corporate policy environment, all impacting the work of an architect. This is why a software architect must be capable of mediating between the sometimes conflicting stakeholder groups, processing information for any given target group, then communicating this information and feeding back the outcomes to other groups again.

Even within agile projects, software architecture is not a democratic process. If members of the development team hold controversial or divergent opinions, it is up to the software architect to bring about a decision in favor of one or the other of the aspects involved. This means that the developers have to review the consequences of decisions made by the architect and assess possible alternative solutions. To be able to do so, they must also be familiar with essential architecture and design patterns as well as architectural principles, and use them if required. For this to work, a certain amount of software architecture awareness is required from developers as well.
In this context, know-how transfers that are necessary to address knowledge gaps are also part of the software architect’s duties and responsibilities.

Courses

The International Software Architecture Qualification Board (iSAQB) brings together software-architecture experts from professional practice, consulting and universities. For this purpose, the association has created the iSAQB® Certified Professional for Software Architecture program (CPSA), a standardized scheme for initial and further training for software architects that is globally recognized.

University-based iSAQB members validate the compatibility of teaching and training provided by higher education institutions with the Foundation Level curricula in their latest version. Foundation Level contents and certification tend to define rather holistic, fundamental contents.
If a university’s teaching and curricula are congruent with iSAQB contents and the university concluded a licensing agreement, it will refer to this conformity and organize via a licensed certifying body a certification examination for the award of the title of ‘Certified Professional for Software Architecture – Foundation Level’.

The preparation for this certification is offered to students through suitable special classes at licensed higher education institutions.

CPSA an Hochschulen

Bedeutung der Rolle Softwarearchitekt*in

Die Rolle Softwarearchitekt*in gewinnt innerhalb des breiten Themengebietes des „Sotwareengineerings“ immer mehr an Bedeutung.

Softwarearchitekten stellen das Bindeglied zwischen den unterschiedlichen Interessengruppen eines Projektes dar. Dazu zählen neben den Anwendern, Auftraggebern und dem Betrieb auch die Projektmanager*innen sowie das komplette Entwicklungsteam:

Softwarearchitekt

Innerhalb eines jeweiligen firmenpolitischen Umfeldes wirken somit viele unterschiedliche Kräfte und Interessen auf einen Architekten ein. Dieser muss daher die Fähigkeit mitbringen, zwischen den zum Teil konträren Interessensgruppen zu vermitteln, Informationen für die jeweilige Zielgruppe aufzubereiten, diese dann zu kommunizieren und Ergebnisse wieder zurück in andere Gruppen tragen.

Auch in agilen Projekten ist das Thema Softwarearchitektur kein demokratischer Prozess. Bei kontroversen und divergierenden Auffassungen im Entwicklerteam, ist es die Aufgabe von Softwarearchitekt*innen, eine Entscheidung für den einen oder anderen Aspekt herbeizuführen. Dabei müssen die Entwickler die Konsequenzen der Architekturentscheidungen beurteilen und alternative Lösungswege bewerten können und daher auch wesentliche Architekturmuster, Design-Patterns und Architekturprinzipien kennen und bei Bedarf einsetzen können. Damit dieses funktioniert, sollten Entwickler*innen auch ein Bewusstsein für Softwarearchitektur besitzen.

Notwendige Know-how-Transfers, um Wissenslücken zu schließen, gehören dabei ebenso zu den Aufgaben von Softwarearchitekt*innen.

Lehrveranstaltungen

Das International Software Architecture Qualification Board (iSAQB) ist ein Zusammenschluss von Fachexpert*innen aus Praxis, Beratung und Hochschulen zum Thema Softwarearchitektur. Mit dem iSAQB® CPSA Certified Professional for Software Architecture®-Programm hat der Verein ein weltweit anerkanntes, standardisiertes Aus- und Weiterbildungsschema für Softwarearchitekten geschaffen.

Die Hochschulmitglieder des iSAQB e.V. validieren die Kompatibilität der Ausbildungsinhalte an Hochschulen und Universitäten zu den Lehrplaninhalten des Foundation-Levels in ihrer aktuellen Fassung. Die Foundation-Level-Inhalte und Zertifizierung definieren eher ganzheitliche, grundlegende Inhalte.
Sofern die Lehrplaninhalte einer Hochschule deckungsgleich mit den Inhalten des iSAQB e.V. sind, verweist die Hochschule auf die Konformität und organisiert eine Zertifizierungsprüfung zum „Certified Professional for Software Architecture – Foundation Level“.

Diese Zertifierzierung wird Studierenden im Rahmen von entsprechenden Spezialveranstaltungen durch teilnehmende Hochschulen und Universitäten angeboten.