Setting future trends: interdisciplinary work within IT

23. January 2017

The iSAQB has joined forces with three other qualification boards to launch the “Shaping the Future with IT” initiative, whose aim is to create an interdisciplinary body of knowledge fit for the challenges of software development in a digital society.

Information technology (IT) is no longer merely a tool to support existing processes. IT in and of itself now helps to shape innovative human interaction, work, organisations and our entire society. In order to meet this increased responsibility, four qualifications boards with different training focuses have joined forces to launch the “Shaping the Future with IT” initiative: the German Testing Board (GTB) for testing, International Requirements Engineering Board (IREB) for requirements engineering, International Software Architecture Qualification Board (ISAQB) for software architecture and International Usability and UX User Experience Qualification Board (UXQB) for usability.

The aim of this initiative is to use the smart orchestration and integration of the four key disciplines of IT development in order to take active IT design to the next level – allowing associates to attain all knowledge required for shaping the future responsibly and sustainably through IT.

The necessity of this initiative stems from nearly 50 years of IT history, characterised by the emergence of numerous specialised subjects and disciplines and reflected in today’s even wider variety of IT professions. The “Shaping the Future with IT” initiative’s rationale is to counteract the trend towards a silo mentality in the management of knowledge and to provide an adequate response to both the increasing ubiquity of IT in our daily lives and the incessant shortening of innovation cycles. This development of IT from a tool to an innovator over the last few years has made it necessary to apply an increasingly cross-disciplinary approach to IT work, as propagated by agile process models for instance.

The four boards involved will have a shared stand at the OOP conference for software architecture held in Munich from 30 January to 3 February 2017 (1.16 to 1.19).

Bildschirmfoto 2017-01-23 um 09.56.39

Zukunftsweisend: interdisziplinäres Arbeiten in der IT

23. Januar 2017

Der iSAQB hat sich mit drei weiteren Qualifizierungsboards zur Initiative „Wir gestalten mit IT die Zukunft“ zusammengeschlossen, um einen interdisziplinären Wissenskanon für die Herausforderungen der Softwareentwicklung in der digitalen Gesellschaft zu schaffen.

Informationstechnik (IT) ist nicht mehr nur ein Werkzeug, um bestehende Prozesse zu unterstützen. IT selbst gestaltet heute innovative menschliche Interaktion, Arbeit, Organisationen und die gesamte Gesellschaft.  Um dieser erhöhten Verantwortung gerecht zu werden, haben sich vier Qualifizierungsboards unterschiedlicher Ausbildungsschwerpunkte zur Initiative „Wir gestalten mit IT die Zukunft“ zusammengeschlossen: German Testing Board (GTB) als deutscher Vertreter des International Software Testing Qualification Boards (ISTQB) für Testen, International Requirements Engineering Board (IREB) für Requirements Engineering, International Software Architecture Qualification Board (ISAQB) für Software-Architektur und International Usability and UX User Experience Qualification Board (UXQB) für Usability.

Das Ziel dieser Initiative ist es, durch eine geschickte Orchestrierung und Integration der vier Kerndisziplinen der IT-Entwicklung, die aktive Gestaltung von IT auf die nächste Ebene zu heben: Mitarbeiter erhalten hier alle erforderlichen Kenntnisse, um mit IT die Zukunft verantwortungsvoll und nachhaltig zu gestalten.

Die Notwendigkeit der Initiative ist in einer fast 50 Jahre dauernden IT-Historie zu finden, die durch die Entstehung einer Vielzahl von Spezialthemen und -disziplinen gekennzeichnet ist und die sich heute in einer noch größeren Vielfalt von IT-Berufen manifestieren. Die Initiative „Wir gestalten mit IT die Zukunft“ ist die logische Gegenbewegung zu dieser zunehmenden Silobildung des Wissens, um sowohl der zunehmenden Omnipräsenz von IT im täglichen Leben, als auch den immer kürzer werdenden Innovationszyklen gerecht werden zu können. Diese Entwicklung von IT vom Werkzeug zum Innovationstreiber erfordert seit einigen Jahren zunehmend ein interdisziplinäres Arbeiten, wie es beispielsweise in agilen Vorgehensmodellen propagiert wird.

Die vier Boards werden auf der OOP, Konferenz für Software-Architekturen, vom 30. Januar bis 3. Februar 2017 in München einen gemeinsamen Stand haben (1.16 bis 1.19).

 

Bildschirmfoto 2017-01-23 um 09.56.39