The Association

Below, you will find information on the association, its objectives, roles and responsibilities and members.

Objectives of the association

The International Software Architecture Qualification Board brings together professional software architecture experts from industry, consulting, training, academia and other organisations.

The iSAQB e. V. is an international board (established as an association according to German law, hence the ‘e. V.’) with the following objectives:

  • Creating and maintaining consistent syllabi and curricula for software architects (Certified Professional for Software Architecture)
  • Defining certification examinations on the basis of CPSA curricula
  • Ensuring the professional quality of teaching and initial and further training for software architects

The iSAQB defines training and examination rules and regulations but does not carry out any training or examinations itself, which it assigns to external (licensed) training and examination organisations. It also determines as well as monitors the relevant processes required.

Within the iSAQB e. V., all activities are carried out on a voluntary basis – its active members do not receive any remuneration or payment of fees for their involvement in the association.

Interviews with active voluntary iSAQB members!!

Since 2008, the members of the International Software Architecture Qualification Board, the iSAQB, have been working to promote standardisation in the training of software architects. They all are software architecture experts from industry, consulting, training, academia and other sectors and work for the iSAQB on a voluntary basis.

iSAQB_Gruppenbild_MV2014

Read on to find out what eight of the currently 127 iSAQB members have to say about their work and commitment for the association, the types of certification available and the reasons why certification within software architecture has been long overdue.

Why was the iSAQB founded?

Phillip Ghadir: The iSAQB was founded in order standardise and harmonise the training of software architects. Ideally, this training should be the common denominator between those software architects that develop software and those that take care of planning and communications.

Who can call themselves a software architect?

Matthias Bohlen: Basically, anybody can use this title as it is not protected. But in a typical software development team, there will always be one or two members of that team who have this design energy: they’re the ones to whom it matters what a component is called, they’re the ones to whom it matters what the interface looks like, they’re the ones to whom it matters whether a system can be maintained and extended. And it’s exactly that kind of people that we need, so they really are the ones who should be allowed to call themselves software architects.

Andreas Rausch: The fact that anybody can use that title is a problem indeed. And it’s one of the reasons why we must have a clear occupational profile with a certification programme that is substantiated by specific content.

Why is certification important for software architects, or what is its added value?

Martin Rösch: I’d liken it to a driving licence documenting that the holder is familiar with the basic traffic rules. The iSAQB certification documents that knowledge has been acquired, which makes it a quality feature for potential clients or line managers.

Wolfgang Fahl: Up to now, employers have had to specify their expectations in their job adverts. This has now become obsolete as the iSAQB curriculum defines 46 learning goals that we expect a software architect to attain. At the end of training, the certificate will help to make clear what exactly I as a software architect am capable of doing.

What is the difference between the certification levels?

Mahbouba Gharbi: The Foundation Level forms a common basis for the topic of software architecture. It’s a basic course for software architects as well as software developers, testers, analysts and technical project managers. The Advanced Level is aimed at experienced software architects and software developers who have already familiarised themselves with the topic of software architecture.

Stefan Tilkov: The Foundation Level‘s final examination is a multiple-choice text with 42 questions. In order to pass, participants must answer at least 60% of all questions correctly. The Advanced Level is fundamentally different and composed of a variety of modules and areas.

Wolfgang Fahl: At Advanced Level, participants have to collect 70 credit points from seven modules of the three skills areas methodology, technology and communications in order to register for the examination. They are then given an examination task, for which they will have approx. 40 hours to complete it. Upon completion of the task, they will have to defend it in front of a board of examiners and respond to their questions. Those who pass the examination can call themselves “Certified Professional for Software Architecture”.

What impact does certification have on your career?

Matthias Bohlen: I think that within a company it would be good to have as many employees as possible taking part in Foundation Level training. This would provide more flexibility regarding their involvement in projects and help them settle faster. And it would harmonise the common language used as everybody would use the same terminology. Being qualified according to Advanced Level brings more benefits than just improving operations within a company: as a line manager, having an architect with the quality feature of an iSAQB-certified Advanced Level gives me the peace of mind that I can delegate larger project to a responsible and reliable employee. And that can be a career advantage of course.

Does iSAQB recognise certificates gained from other previous training?

Carola Lilienthal: Third-party certificates can be part of Advanced Level training as credit points may be awarded for certain certificates. We’re always happy to provide fast und straightforward information on how this could work out in individual cases. We encourage anybody interested to contact the association via e-mail. Currently recognised certificates can also be found on the iSAQB Advanced Level page.

 Members

Active board members

Sponsoring board members

Supporting board members

Internal area for members

For members of all categories, there are internal information areas, which can only be used by those with appropriate access rights. These areas can be accessed via the iSAQB’s internal information area.

Der Verein

Hier finden Sie Informationen über den Verein, seine Ziele, Aufgaben und Mitglieder

Ziele des Vereins

Das International Software Architecture Qualification Board ist ein Zusammenschluss von
Fachexperten zu Softwarearchitektur aus Industrie, Beratungs- und Trainingsunternehmen, Wissenschaft und anderen Organisationen.

Der iSAQB e. V. ist ein internationales Gremium (organisiert gemäß deutschem Vereinsrecht), mit den folgenden Zielen:

  • Erstellung und Pflege einheitlicher Lehr- und Ausbildungspläne für Softwarearchitekten (Certified Professional for Software Architecture)
  • Definition von Zertifizierungsprüfungen auf Basis der CPSA-Lehrpläne
  • Sicherstellung der fachlich-inhaltlichen Qualität von Lehre, Aus- und Weiterbildung für Softwarearchitektur

Der iSAQB e. V. führt selbst keine Schulungen oder Prüfungen durch, legt jedoch Ausbildungs- und Prüfungsordnungen fest, bestellt (lizenzierte) Schulungs- und Prüfungsorganisationen, definiert und überwacht die dafür notwendigen Prozesse.

Sämtliche Aktivitäten des iSAQB e. V. finden auf ehrenamtlicher Basis statt – die aktiven Mitglieder erhalten für ihre Vereinstätigkeiten keine Bezüge oder Honorare.

Ehrenamtlich engagierte iSAQB Mitglieder im Interview!

 

 

Seit 2008 engagieren sicIMG_0576h die Mitglieder des International Software Architecture Qualification Board, kurz: iSAQB e. V., für eine Standardisierung der Ausbildung von Softwarearchitekten. Sie alle sind Experten auf dem Gebiet der Softwarearchitektur aus Industrie-, Beratungs- und Trainingsunternehmen, Wissenschaft oder anderen Organisationen und engagieren sich ehrenamtlich beim iSAQB.

 

 

Lesen sie hier von acht der derzeit insgesamt 127 Mitglieder des iSAQB über ihr Engagement im Verein, welche Formen der Zertifizierung es gibt und warum eine Zertifizierung im Bereich Softwarearchitektur schon längst überfällig ist.

Warum wurde der iSAQB e.V. gegründet?

Phillip Ghadir: Der iSAQB wurde gegründet, um die Ausbildung für Softwarearchitekten zu standardisieren und zu vereinheitlichen. Idealerweise sollte diese Ausbildung den gemeinsamen Nenner zwischen den Softwarearchitekten, die Software entwickeln und den Softwarearchitekten, die planen und Kommunikation verantworten bilden.

Wer kann sich Software Architekt nennen?

Matthias Bohlen: Im Prinzip kann sich jeder so nennen, denn die Bezeichnung ist nicht geschützt. Aber in einem typischen Softwareentwicklungsteam gibt immer den einen oder die zwei im Team, die diese Design-Energie haben: Denen ist es nicht egal wie eine Komponente heißt, denen ist es nicht egal, wie die Schnittstelle aussieht, denen ist es nicht egal, ob ein System wartbar und erweiterbar ist. Und genau diese Leute braucht es, und genau diese Leute sollten sich Softwarearchitekt nennen dürfen.

Andreas Rausch: Tatsächlich ist es ein großes Problem, dass sich jeder so nennen darf. Und es ist einer der Gründe, warum wir ein klares Berufsbild mit einem inhaltlich unterfütterten Zertifizierungsprogramm haben müssen.

Warum ist eine Zertifizierung für den Software Architekten wichtig bzw. welchen Mehrwert hat sie?

Martin Rösch: Ich sehe das wie mit einem Führerschein, der dokumentiert, dass der Inhaber die Grundregeln des Straßenverkehrs kennt. Eine iSAQB Zertifizierung dokumentiert das erworbene Wissen und ist deswegen ein Qualitätsmerkmal für einen Auftraggeber oder Vorgesetzten.

Wolfgang Fahl: Bislang muss ein Arbeitgeber seine Erwartungen in den Stellenausschreibungen konkretisieren. Das fällt nun weg, denn im Lehrplan des iSAQB sind 46 Lernziele festgelegt, die wir von einem Softwarearchitekten erwarten. Am Ende der Ausbildung ist Dank des Zertifikats klar, was ich als Softwarearchitekt alles kann.

Wie unterscheiden Sich die Zertifizierungsstufen?

Mahbouba Gharbi: Der Foundation Level schafft eine gemeinsame Basis für das Thema Softwarearchitektur. Er ist ein Grundlagenkurs für Softwarearchitekten aber auch für Softwareentwickler, Tester, Analytiker oder technische Projektleiter. Der Advanced Level richtet sich an erfahrene Softwarearchitekten und Softwareentwickler, die sich schon mit dem Thema Softwarearchitektur auseinandergesetzt haben.

Stefan Tilkov: Der Foundation Level schließt mit einem Multiple Choice Test aus 42 Fragen ab. Um die Prüfung zu bestehen, muss der Teilnehmer mindestens 60% der Fragen korrekt beantworten. Der Advanced Level funktioniert grundsätzlich anders und ist aus verschiedenen Modulen und verschiedenen Bereichen aufgebaut.

Wolfgang Fahl: Im Advanced Level müssen die Teilnehmer aus sieben Modulen der drei Kompetenzbereiche Methodik, Technik und Kommunikation 70 Credit Points sammeln, um sich zur Prüfung anzumelden. Hier bekommen sie eine Prüfungsaufgabe, für deren Bearbeitung sie ca. 40 Stunden Zeit haben und die sie anschließend einem Prüfungsausschuss gegenüber verteidigen und Rückfragen beantworten müssen. Wer die Prüfung besteht, kann sich „Certified Professional for Software Architecture“ nennen.

Wie wirkt sich eine Zertifizierung auf die Karriere aus?

Matthias Bohlen: Ich glaube, dass es innerhalb eines Unternehmens gut wäre, wenn möglichst viele Mitarbeiter den Foundation Level durchlaufen. Damit wären sie in den Projekten flexibler einsetzbar und würden schneller Fuß fassen. Die Sprechweise wäre vereinheitlicht, da alle die gleichen Begriffe verwenden. Der Abschluss eines Advanced Level geht über die Vorteile eines innerbetrieblichen Erfolges hinaus: Als Vorgesetzter kann ich mit dem Qualitätsmerkmal eines iSAQB zertifizierten Advanced Level-Architekten davon ausgehen, dass ich den Mitarbeiter eigenverantwortlich in größere Projekte schicken kann. Und natürlich kann das ein Karrierevorteil sein.

Werden bereits erworbene Zertifikate aus Schulungen vom iSAQB e. V. anerkannt?

Carola Lilienthal: Fremde Zertifikate können Teil der Advanced Level-Ausbildung sein, denn für bestimmte Zertifikate werden Credit Points anerkannt. Wir geben gerne, schnell und unkompliziert Auskunft, wie das im Einzelfall aussehen könnte. Interessierte können sich gerne per Mail an den Verein wenden. Die aktuell anerkannten Zertifikate finden Sie auch auf der Advanced-Level-Seite des iSAQB.

 

Mitglieder

Aktive Board-Mitglieder

Materiell fördernde Board-Mitglieder

Ideell fördernde Board-Mitglieder

Interner Bereich für Mitglieder

Für Mitglieder jeder Art gibt es interne Informationsbereiche, die nur mit den entsprechenden Zugriffsrechten genutzt werden können. Der Einstieg zu diesen Bereichen erfolgt über den internen iSAQB-Informationsbereich.